Motor Vehicle Accident

How Soon Should I File a Police Report After an Auto Accident?

Nevada law requires you to call the police after auto accidents that cause injuries or fatalities. If the crash caused personal injuries, deaths, or property damage exceeding $750, you legally have to submit a Report of Traffic Accident to the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 10 days of your accident. The police can submit this report for you, if you call 911 from the scene of y...

read more
If a Pothole Causes My Car Accident, Who Is Liable?

Roadway defects commonly cause car accidents in Nevada. Poorly maintained roads, heavy traffic, and lots of wear and tear can result in hazards such as cracks and potholes. These hazards can be dangerous for drivers, who may suffer property damage, an auto accident, or personal injuries from driving over or around them. If you or a loved one suffered damages from a pothole, contact a Las Vegas ...

read more
What Is the Difference Between Personal Injury and Bodily Injury?

After an accident that causes injury, you will likely hear the terms of personal injury and bodily injury often. Some may use these terms interchangeably, but they have entirely different meanings under Nevada insurance law. A common mistake as an insurance policyholder is to purchase personal injury protection when one really means bodily injury coverage. Understanding the nuances between the ...

read more
What to Do After an Accident Caused by a Drunk Driver

When a driver causes an accident with another, the at-fault driver could potentially face criminal charges as well as civil liability for the victim’s damages. This is especially true in drunk driving cases, as driving under the influence is against the law. However, how does an injured driver prove that the driver who caused his or her accident was under the influence at the time? If you or a...

read more
What Is the Penalty for Driving Without Insurance in Nevada?

Every driver must carry an auto insurance policy that satisfies their states’ minimum insurance requirements, and those requirements change from state to state. It is essential for all Nevada drivers to purchase adequate auto insurance coverage. Failure to do so can not only lead to severe legal complications but also significant financial liability. Nevada Auto Insurance Requirements The minim...

read more
What To Do if the Driver Who Caused Your Accident Is Under the Influence

Car accidents can be devastating, even when both drivers are fully sober and alert. An accident that happens due to the influence of drugs or alcohol is much more likely to happen and can cause even more severe injuries. It’s because of the lack of safety that comes from driving under the influence that getting behind the wheel while intoxicated is illegal. If you are in a car accident and the...

read more
What Is Full Coverage Auto Insurance?

Car insurance terminology can be confusing. As a responsible driver, you know that Nevada law requires you to have insurance. However, you might not know what types of insurance are required and how your policy limits might affect your liability and compensation following a car accident. Knowing the different types of insurance can help you make informed decisions about your current coverage an...

read more
How Does the Sharing Economy Affect My Personal Injury Liability?

Since guidelines and laws that impact liability vary by city and state, participation in a sharing economy presents liability risks. By now, most people have probably used an Uber or Lyft or stayed at an Airbnb at least once. If you’re one of the majority, you use the sharing economy. The advantages of the sharing economy are obvious – using peer-to-peer services offer more flexibility and a lo...

read more
What Is the “No Injury, No Response” Car Accident Law in Nevada?

In Las Vegas, Nevada, the Metropolitan Police Department have enforced a “no injury, no response” car accident policy since March 3rd, 2014. The law went into effect to free valuable law enforcement time and resources for more serious accidents that cause personal injuries. According to the law, police will not respond to minor injuries, or those that don’t cause injuries or deaths. This does n...

read more
What You Need to Know About Nevada’s Good Samaritan Laws

Many states have passed Good Samaritan laws to encourage bystanders to act and help in emergency situations. These laws came about to combat growing fears of causing more damage and ending up in a lawsuit for trying to help accident victims. Nevada has a Good Samaritan law, found in Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Section 41.500. Here’s a breakdown of what to know about this law as a Nevada citiz...

read more